This guy above us

I had the most hilarious conversation at work the other day with my lovely colleague L. We were having lunch together and I casually mentioned ‘Did you see the sky this morning? Amazing! Very dark with pink wavy streaks and purple strands around the edges.’

She stared at me blankly. I could see that her brain was trying to cotton on to what I was saying but wasn’t quite managing.

‘The sky. Gorgeous!’ I repeated, watching for things to click into place in her mind.

‘What guy?’ she finally asked.

My brain had to jiggle itself around a bit too before I burst out laughing. I could understand her puzzled expression better, obviously trying to work out why I would possibly find a guy with pink and purple streaks in his hair gorgeous. And maybe also wondering which hairdresser in their right mind would do that to anyone other than an old eighties pop star.

‘The. Sky’, I articulated very clearly. It was her turn to burst out laughing.

I have always loved looking at the sky but with age I have been noticing more and more just how spectacular some sunrises and sunsets can be. In the last few days, even weeks, it seems that every morning and every evening there is a masterpiece to behold above our heads. A painting of the most vivid, striking, natural colours. A palette that changes every second and gets gradually paler as the day breaks or darker as dusk appears. A photograph never captures the reality of the moment and I find myself uselessly trying to describe the real picture I actually glimpsed. But the true beauty of the sun coming up as I walk towards it or setting in the distance is simply indescribable.

I tried to explain all this to L, who is also a sky lover, but my words sounded lame and faded. Nothing like what I had seen or wanted to describe.

Another colleague arrived just at that moment. ‘Did you see the sky this morning?’ I asked her too, in my childish hope that we could continue this celestial discussion as a threesome.

Blank face. Raised eyebrows. Questioning look.

‘What guy?’ she asked.

So I have decided that from now on I shall just gaze and gawp and keep my wonder at the beauty of the heavens to myself. And maybe try to articulate and enunciate more clearly: The sky, the sky, the sky, the sky…

No, I don’t mean THAT guy. The sky!

img_0181

 

3 thoughts on “This guy above us

  1. Makes me think of a primary pupil who I once taught English to, who could never ever manage to say ‘My name is Pam’ – it always came out as My name Spam!
    Lovely descriptions Juliet! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

