We wish you a Merry Christmas!

Our mantlepiece could feature in a Pretty Homes magazine. It’s covered in beautiful, glittery Christmas cards with two chubby, smiling Santas watching over them and over us too as we sit around the fireplace warming our toes.

I feel very lucky to have such a pretty view from my favourite place on my favourite couch because all the people who sent these cards probably know that they will not be getting one back from me. Not this year anyway. They did last year when, for once, an amazingly festive whim came over me and I actually took the time to go out and find, then write a whole boxful to family and friends. I can only imagine the look on their faces as they opened the envelope with the strange scrawl scribbled across the front. ‘Mmm, this writing looks familiar but we haven’t had one from THEM for years!’ At least twenty years I think because I’m just no good at doing Christmas cards. I’m good at receiving them. Hopeless at sending them.

And I have always refused to do that awful round-robin email thingmy. The one that takes half an hour to read with lots of phoney-baloney photos of the perfect, smiling family and news of how little Jason was top of his class for the fifth year in a row and how little Lizzie won her skating championship yet again this year.

I just can’t do that much boasting, even though I certainly have plenty to brag about with my own amazing children, my husband’s extraordinary sporting achievements and my personal astounding, fulfilled challenges and dreams. Sorry, I’m just too shy for that. No, let’s say coy instead. The dictionary definition of that delightful little word describes me to a tee.

However, I would sincerely love to send my warmest wishes and personalised messages to everyone I know and love. But dammit, it’s too late for paper cards. Dammit, I’ve lost a lot of email contacts. Dammit, I’m a crappy liar.

So this year my beloved blog is going to come to the rescue. If ever there was a modern, hi-tech, ingenious, environmentally-friendly, incredibly cheap and unbelievably cheapskate way of saying Merry Christmas, this is it.

Are you ready?

So we hope that 2016 has been a great year for you and your family. We hope that you have been well and happy throughout this year and that everything you desired for 2016 came to fruition. We hope that this Yuletide season will be filled with love, joy and laughter in your home.

And above all we wish you a very Merry Christmas, a Happy New Year and a Festive Fireplace that sends out a heart-shaped flame to watch over you and your loved ones forever and ever. Just like this one…

Pretty special, don’t you think?

4 thoughts on “We wish you a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

